Does Your Stomach Drop When the Roller Coaster Starts to Climb?

Steve Friedman
4 min readJan 21, 2020

Speaking tips for nervous introverts

I’ve never cared for roller coasters. Oh, I get it. The thrill going around the turns and plunging down deep canyons provides such a rush and a sense of pride once you stumble out of the seat and compare notes with your fellow adventurists. But for me, the clickity-clack as the car slowly pulls itself up that first climb is grueling. And perhaps even worse is the often 30-minute wait in line to get to the front, during which I spend my time deep in my mind.

As an introvert, so many thoughts run through my mind…is this safe, I have no control, why am I doing this, it’s so high up, where’s the early exit, I can’t quit, I can do this, it’s no big deal, and then cycling back through. Ultimately, I’m battling between fear and being called “chicken.” Meanwhile, the extroverts are giddy with anticipation of the whole ride and the wait and initial climb only help to build their excitement.

I decided long ago the thrill at the end is not worth the aggravation and anxiety before ever reaching the top of the first climb. I haven’t been on a roller coaster in years and I’m quite fine with that.

I torture myself with the same internal debate regarding public speaking. While I’ve made many presentations to small and medium-sized groups…

--

--

Steve Friedman
0 Followers

Steve Friedman is the author of In Search of Courage: An Introvert’s Struggle with Addictive Behaviors, as well as a weekly blog at www.BeyondIntroversion.com.