Movie review 15 — The Lighthouse

Beyondme_btw
2 min readNov 16, 2023

Movie 15 — The lighthouse (2019) , Dir. Robert Eggers.

I was gonna post the review yesterday(15/11/23) because it’s my movie a day challenge. I tried very hard finishing the movie yesterday, but i couldn’t.

The movie is a horror movie that takes place at a lighthouse, it stars Robert Pattinson and Willem Dafoe who are in almost all the scenes.

Long story short i couldn’t finish the movie, I ended up reading the story on Wikipedia.

I tried watching but it just felt so boring and i didn’t have the patience to force my self to watch it. I got to about 30 minutes somehow but the entire day yesterday (15/11/23) i was watching it in 2 minute intervals and at 15 minutes i even started watching it at 2X speed, I even started jumping to random parts of the movie to see if anything interesting happened but nothing seemed to resonate with me.

From what i saw a little and read , it is quite good, there are couple of twists i wasn’t expecting.

The pictures i have seen from the movie are quite gory and do indeed make it a horror movie.

The movie was clearly made for a target audience who like a horror fantasy in a normal or unusual setting and i’m clearly not a part of that audience.

Not every movie is made for everyone to enjoy, and I’m glad that A24 are making such movies that are different from typical Hollywood movies, It is the kind of creativity that studios we need to improve the quality of filmmaking.

With the right audience i’m sure it is hit but not for me, which is why out of respect for the genre and the filmmakers i’m not going to give it a rating.

Maybe in the future i will watch it again when i have more patience or i get a taste for the genre but for now i stand by opinion.

***********************************************************

My next movie review is going to be The Creator (2023)

Check this out on my Blog.

--

--

Beyondme_btw

Hello there, i write about my life, movies and anything i can. My Site - Beyondmebtw.com