Ram Bahadur Bomjan: “Spirituality and Stupidity”

Bizay Malla
2 min readApr 6, 2017

--

Back in 2010–11, I remember Ram Bahadur Bomjan for getting coverage from national and internationl media. That time his extensively controversial behavior was unnoticed and often unrecorded, and he was enjoying freedom from punishment, due to the longer political crisis in Nepal. And now when I search for those controversial articles about him, it’s all disappered and made practically unsearchable on the Internet. Why so? Is he hidden king of Nepal? Is he the de facto ruler who has immunity against any prosecution of any crimes, and whom no government or police agency would touch even if he continues in his criminal activity?

Apart from all those controversial articles and videos which are deleted now, who is Ram Bahadur Bomjan? After watching the documentary about him in Discovery: I believe he has unique spiritual gifts. But still he isn’t scientifically tested yet. And he was filmed from three meters away. I guess, he was at state of yogic sleep or intensive meditation. Spirituality is generally a broader concept, while it may incorprate with elements of stupidity. Spirituality is about finding a meaning of life, whereas stupidity is about deciding what is right and wrong. I don’t want to be a spiritual teacher here, because I guess you know more than me about spiritual things. Although I’m suprised by his meditation skill from an early age. But I’m equally suprised by his recent activity.

But when I read about our ex-health minister Mani Lama, who claims that his wife got pregnant by Ram Bahadur Bomjan’s blessings, and when Ram Bahadur Bomjan’s supporters claims that they can see light coming from his forehead and fire from his chest at night, I personally feel like it’s called stupidity.

All I want to say is, you better know the difference between spirituality and stupidity.

--

--

Bizay Malla

“18-y-o, high-school graduated, part time writer, devotee of travelling, electronic dance music enthusiast, nature lover, wantrepreneur”