How to Thrive During Hard Times — Overcoming Adversity

Beauty For Ashes
4 min readMar 24, 2022

--

No matter who you are, life will always present challenges and difficulties. Whether it’s a global pandemic, financial insecurity, or relationship problems, we all face times of hardship. The good news is that these trying times can actually be used to our advantage. By learning how to overcome adversity, we can come out stronger and more resilient on the other side. In this blog post, we’ll explore some practical tips for thriving during hard times. So if you’re feeling bogged down by life’s challenges, read on for some inspiration and motivation.

15 Ways To Overcome Adversity

1. Stay positive.

It can be difficult to stay positive when times are tough, but it’s essential to your wellbeing. When you focus on the good things in your life, even amidst difficulty, you’ll start to feel more hopeful and optimistic.

2. Take care of yourself.

In difficult times, it’s more important than ever to take care of yourself both physically and emotionally. Make sure to eat healthy, exercise, get enough sleep, and find ways to relax and de-stress.

3. Find a support system.

When times are tough, lean on the people who love and support you. Whether it’s family, friends, or a professional therapist, talking to someone about your struggles can be incredibly helpful.

4. Be proactive.

Don’t wait for things to get better on their own — take action to make the changes you want to see in your life. If you’re facing a difficult situation, research your options and find a way to move forward.

5. Keep things in perspective.

It’s easy to get caught up in our problems and feel like they’re all-consuming. But it’s important to remember that difficult times are usually temporary, and things will eventually get better.

6. Be patient.

Rome wasn’t built in a day, and neither are lasting solutions to life’s challenges. Change takes time, so be patient with yourself and others as you work through difficult times.

7. Take one step at a time.

Don’t try to tackle everything all at once. When you’re facing a big challenge, break it down into smaller steps and take it one step at a time.

8. Seek out new experiences.

One of the best ways to overcome adversity is to push yourself outside of your comfort zone. Trying new things and meeting new people can help you see the world in a new light and find strength you didn’t know you had.

9. Learn from your mistakes.

We all make mistakes, but it’s how we learn and grow from them that counts. When you mess up, take responsibility for your actions and try to learn from your mistake.

10. Keep your head up.

In the words of Winston Churchill, “If you’re going through hell, keep going.” No matter how difficult things are, don’t give up. Remember that things will get better in time.

11. Stay focused on your goals.

When times are tough, it’s easy to lose sight of what’s important to you. But it’s crucial to stay focused on your goals and dreams, even during difficult times.

12. Stay connected to your values.

Our values are what give our lives meaning and purpose. When you’re feeling lost or struggling, reconnect with your values to help you find your way.

13. Help others.

When you’re facing adversity, it can be helpful to reach out and help others who are going through similar struggles. Not only will this make you feel good, but it can also give you a new perspective on your own challenges.

14. Practice gratitude.

One of the best ways to overcome adversity is to be grateful for the good things in your life. No matter how tough things are, there’s always something to be grateful for.

15. Don’t give up on yourself.

Remember that you are capable of overcoming anything life throws your way. You are strong, resilient, and capable of great things. Never give up on yourself, no matter how difficult things get.

My Story of Dealing with the Hard Times In Life

After years of being hurt, abused, and struggling, I had become numb and detached from emotions.

I bottled up all my emotions and kept them hidden. The fact that I had never sought help or addressed the issue convinced me that everything was fine with me.

Years of having to be strong and brush things off had finally caught up with me and nearly destroyed my life. I was an emotional wreck, but my pride wouldn’t allow me to admit it.

Then one day life took yet another turn, but this time I had no strength to even pretend to be fine.

My children were hurting and I couldn’t help them because I myself was in need of help. But by the grace of God or a higher being, which I choose to believe is God, brought me out.

I made a deal, to be proactive in my calling in exchange for the beauty of life. I agreed to hand over all my hurt- (ASHES) for my crown of Beauty-(Peace)… Read my full story here

--

--

Beauty For Ashes

I am Falin Daniels. Beauty For Ashes is a safe haven for everyone finding hope and mental strength. It takes courage to hash out ashes in exchange for beauty.