The mystery of True Positive, True Negative, False Positive and False Negative

Bhavesh Bhatt
2 min readSep 10, 2017

--

I’m sure most of you are always confused regarding when an event is True Positive, True Negative, False Positive and False Negative.

I am using cricket the sport to explain this simple concept.

True Positive

  • Umpire gives a Batsman NOT OUT when he is NOT OUT.

True Negative

  • Umpire gives a Batsman OUT when he is OUT.

False Positive (Type I error : Hurts a bit)

  • Umpire gives a Batsman NOT OUT when he is OUT.

False Negative (Type II error : Hurts the most)

  • Umpire gives a Batsman OUT when he is NOT OUT.

I hope it helps in demystifying the mystery!

Want to know more about me?
Please check out my Website.
If you’d like to learn machine learning, check out my YouTube channel.
If you’d like to get updates, follow me on Twitter, GitHub & Medium.

--

--