Mise-en-Scene

bhavana s.
3 min readSep 9, 2015

--

Please proceed at your own risk.

Lighting:

The lighting in this image highlights those faces nearest to the camera, while obscuring those that are a little bit farther. I thought this picture would be the best in representing light because it seems to take on a more colorful version of low-key lighting. Similar to low-key lighting, this picture has a strong contrast between the bright and dark areas; it also has distinguished shadows.

Acting:

Acting was a particularly hard image to produce- maybe it was because I suck at acting, or maybe because I don’t know how to act. Nevertheless, this picture shows me “acting” to be completely stress-free and careless, which is quite opposite of what’s actually happening in my life. The first two weeks of Stanton have proved to be one of the most difficult transitions from summer to back-to-school, and has rendered me quite tired and stressed. But in this picture, it looks as if I don’t really care about the looming deadlines of TOK essays, IA drafts, and tests.

Space:

In this image, not a lot of space can be seen, especially due to the vignette effect on the picture, but frontality is seen as my body is placed right in front of the camera, drawing focus to me spinning around. At the same time, the image also uses some aspects of the “Matte” space, since I almost look to be part of the background.

Makeup and Costume:

For this aspect of Mise-en-Scene, I decided to embrace my Indian side. I dressed myself up as if I was about to do a dance performance, which explains the sparkly eye shadow and excess eye liner. My costume is a traditional Indian chudidaur, but the way it is worn is similar to the culture of Punjab. The gaudiness of the chudidaur, however, has to do with the fact that it is a dance costume for Bhangra which builds on bright costumes and energy.

Decor:

This last picture took place in Seattle at the Observation Deck of the Space Needle. The twinkling lights in the background, in contrast with the dark night seems to say that the night has a lot of promises and it isn’t over yet.

--

--