The Brain

Bhumibol Shakya
2 min readAug 6, 2022

--

When I first heard about the study of the brain, I was shocked to know I learned nothing at the age of fourteen. Now, I am twenty-two. I felt like the brain is a marvelous organ someone has studied. I completed reading Ramachandran, Pinker, Doidge, Sacks, Armstrong, Hawkins, and more. The astonishing thing about reading these authors is they all point to the same study and information. It is as if I have memorized the theory of Veron Mountcastle, the demise of neuroplasticity, the starting of the age of AI, and Oliver Sacks’ story about the man who mistook his wife for a hat. Thus, this information is repetitive, but these books create a career that cares more about a boring organ. The bonus of all these books is the information on Broca’s and Wernicke’s area, the sole reason that makes the study of the brain thrilling.

I was supposed to be a psychologist who was happy with counseling and clinical psychology but little did I realize that cognitive sciences would have been the most appealing career path I can choose. Little did I know, that I would be taking classes on psychology and communication. However, I would be working on Python coding by paying extra money to take classes on learning to code. I guess cognitive science and neuroscience would be something I would built my fort on.

To be continued …

Abstract — Looks like a Nerves.

--

--