Coffee Dying Paper and Making Book Page Flowers

no better way to spend the night than creating art

Bigdreamsstudios
3 min readJul 25, 2023
coffee dyed paper

I got some new stencils and I’m trying them out tonight.

I’ve used this method before, although sometimes I prefer a more natural and organic look like the paper in the photo above.

These papers will go in my junk journals, as is, or embelished in some way.

For stencil dying, I take a stack of white copy paper and a stack of large stencils and put them on the table beside the dying surface.

I lay down a sheet of paper, and a stencil on top of it.

Next, I spray the paper and stencil with coffee, not trying to get every area covered, and not trying to get things sprayed evenly.

It looks better when there is a variation of color, so that is what I try for.

Next, I lay another blank sheet on top of the first one, spray, and then keep alternating with paper and stencil.

Tonight I’m using a new set on stencils I just purchased, and there are a variety of shapes, patterns and designs.

There are florals, numbers, and random shapes.

They will probably be dry before morning, because I only sprayed a light layer.

--

--

Bigdreamsstudios

Writing about art, junk journals, life, the economy, and everything else