My experience of watching “The Batman” (No spoilers!)

Bilal
3 min readMar 13, 2022

--

Image taken from Google

I wanted to watch “The Batman” the first week it was released. I did not wanted to deal with spoilers like “Spider-Man: No Way Home.” The Internet is ruining the surprise element. Not only you have people recording movie clips from theaters on their smartphones and uploading them on social media, you have popular YouTube channels making content about the newly-released films, especially about comic-book films. Plus, my algorithm knows I am a huge Batman and Spider-Man fan.

I watched it with my colleague in Regal Binghamton. I invited office colleagues who were students college students for the movie. Most of them couldn’t make it because of personal commitments. We booked our tickets for the 4 PM show. It was a good thing that Regal had many timings. If we didn’t get tickets, we could catch another show in one hour. The 4 PM show for “The Batman” was packed. Me and my colleague had to get seats in the front rows and had to lean our heads against our seats a little to watch the movie. Good thing those seats were reclining.

Popcorn and soda are a must. Since this was a three-hour film, it was a double-must. Regal went too long in my opinion for the intros and trailers. They played a clip between the end of the trailers and the start of the movie promoting DC movies for 2022. I felt that was too much but since Warner Bros. and DC has fallen behind Disney and Marvel, they have to double-up their game. It’s interesting Marvel has managed to penetrate the ‘television-show’ field with shows like “WandaVision” and “Loki.” The animated field is next.

Image taken from Google

“The Batman” was a delight to watch. The movie, the supporting actors and Robert Pattinson’s performance as the Caped Crusader were spot-on. Zoe Kravitz as Catwoman was awesome. Fun fact, this was the first Batman movie after ten years only about Batman (the last being “The Dark Knight Rises” in 2012). It’s too early to call Robert Pattinson as the best Batman in my opinion. That rank still belongs to Christian Bale in my opinion. Nevertheless, Pattinson is still up there and he has the potential to dethrone Christian Bale.

I would rank “The Batman” below The Dark Knight Trilogy movies but still it is one of my favorite Batman movies. You have the right to disagree with my opinion. I wouldn’t mind watching it again in theaters despite the three-hour length. The only difference would be that I wouldn’t mind taking a bathroom break. The trick to watching a long movie with no breaks, go easy on the soda.

--

--

Bilal

Writing about Pakistan affairs and anything else interesting.