Creative Technology Quick Hits

My tweets ft. visual experiments with AI, 3D and XR Tech

Bilawal Sidhu
3 min readFeb 17, 2023
Bilawal Sidhu

Hey Internet! I’ve started this post to keep track of my creative technology experiments with generative AI, 3D engines and visual effects. It includes occasional highlights from my product launches since 2020 or so, when I really started taking Twitter and social media seriously. I’ll try to update this periodically, though really GPT should be doing this for me. Perhaps it already is? :)

A bit about me:

My name is Bilawal Sidhu and I’ve been in to computer graphics and visual effects since I was a 11 year old kid, from wrangling flash to after effects, 3dsmax and maya — blending reality and imagination, and it continues to be a hobby to date.

In the past few years, I’ve built a following of 1.5M+ people on YouTube and TikTok who come to me for entertaining content that blends reality and imagination. Highlights as of 2022 include:

  • 170 million+ views on YouTube, with top video garnering 54M+ views
  • 9.3 million+ likes on TikTok, with top video garnering 19M+ views
  • Creations featured by Autodesk, The Information, Forbes, Discovery and more

In another universe, I probably went on to study film and probably become a VFX supervisor at ILM or Weta. But in this timeline, I studied Computer Science and Business Administration at USC and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Instead over the past decade, I’ve learned how to build bridges and ship cool products and experiences.

I’ve built a foundation doing emerging tech consulting (AR/VR, IoT) for Fortune 500 clients at Deloitte, then went to Google, where over six years I built deep technical expertise in virtual reality media, volumetric and light field capture, geospatial mapping and computer vision as a Senior Product Manager. Upon leaving, highlights included — producing VR content that drove billions of views on YouTube, remapping the world and building the most complete semantic 3D twin of the planet, turning that digital twin into an AR & 3D canvas for developers, and bringing immersive view to beloved billion user consumer products like Google Maps and Search.

Now onto the visual umami:

Top tweets on the subject of creative technology by Bilawal Sidhu:

--

--

Bilawal Sidhu

AI Creator & Ex-Google Maps & AR/VR. 1.4M+ subs & 360M+ views. Tech, art & product. Angel investor. TED speaker. ੴ. 🔗 http://bilawal.in