Acting as a Host in your Conversations

Bill Ash Author
2 min readAug 9, 2022

I leave a function and say to the host, ‘What a great host you are?’

What did they do to instigate this feeling? They welcomed me at the door; introduced me; checked in to see if I was OK; seated us at a large round dining table, where each of us could engage with each other person, with no one sitting in the ‘power corner’; ensured the dinner was served at a pace that meant after dinner dinks/coffee could be served at around 9.30, allowing space for people to feel comfortable to say goodnight.

I felt acknowledged, valued, and listened to. And not once did I observe the host use a mobile phone. At the beginning of the meal, they jokingly gave thanks for mobile phones, though not as cutlery at the dinner table.

Is there any difference when I host a meeting in my workplace? What if I ask:

· How do I make the meeting space welcoming?

· Am I in the right mood for the meeting?

· Do I have enough time to have an effective meeting?

· Have I switched off my mobile phone?

· If I am expecting a call, do I ask the others if they mind if I keep my mobile phone on?

· How do I ensure a person who may not know anyone feels welcome?

· Where do I place myself? In my desk chair, looking across the desk at my invitee? At the head of a rectangular table? Or do I use a round table, with no position of power?

· How do I ensure each person feels listened to?

· Do I check in to see how the meeting is going, and when finished, how it went?

· How do I know when it is ok to end the meeting?

An exercise:

Think of a meeting that did not go well. Are any of these questions helpful to understand how it may have gone better?

This is an extract of an Article I wrote for Queensland Law Society’s Proctor Magazine

--

--

Bill Ash Author

A corporate leader/lawyer/coach/parent, Bill’s passion is to understand how we live in our conversations and how they inform everything we think/say/do.