Techsgiving 2017: 5 Technologies I am Thankful For in 2017

Bill Christian
5 min readNov 28, 2017

--

In the spirit of the now annual Thanksgiving episode on Accidental Tech Podcast, where Marco Arment, Casey Liss, and John Siracusa list technologies they are thankful for in the past year, I share below my Techsgiving (naming is all mine) list.

Spacemacs

I am programmer. My career has grown from the day-to-day role of coding and compiling to drawing shapes in powerpoint and sending executive emails. But, I love to make the computer do my bidding. Coding is art, and, as such, I look for new patterns, frameworks, and tools to create, almost to a fault of being productive. For this reason, Spacemacs is first mention on my list.

Spacemacs lacks the GUI polish of more recent text editors, the full feature capabilities of IntelliJ, and the community strength of Visual Studio Code; yet, I cannot escape how happy I am when I use Spacemacs.

I resisted for decades using VI key bindings. I laughed at the complexity of the Emacs chord. However, to the internet chagrin, the simplicity of using SPC f s or SPC b b has become an inescapable muscle pattern. Looking for the most efficient means for code navigation is my new passion. Each lesson learned is a new joy. Another reason to keep using Spacemacs to prove my worthiness.

I try the new version of SublimeText. I download an update to VS Code. I toy for a few minutes. Dip my toe back into the new modern sandbox. Then without fail, I reach back for Spacemacs. For this reason, I am happy to recognize it as a personal top 2017 tech.

Vortex 75% Keyboard

A keyboard is on my list of top tech for 2017? First I mention out school text editor and now a keyboard? My reputation as a tech gadget nerd is in on the line, but if you have ever looked into the world of mechanical keyboards, heard the clicking of a cube mates keyboard, and felt the allure of such an everyday device, then you have graduated to a new level of nerdom. Only if you are not truly worthy, my selection of the Vortex 75% keyboard will seem irrational.

This keyboard makes me want to type. Writing this article is yet another excuse to hear the clicky noise of the Cherry MX Blue switches under my fingers, to feel the light responsive touch of the keycaps. I did not know I had this fetish until I found myself strolling through the keyboard and mouse aisle at Fry’s strolling my fingers over the many different products to find the perfect feel.

The Vortex 75% Keyboard is a superbly designed tool. With interchangeable keycaps and full size cursor control in a form factor smaller than a ten keyless, I happily crate this keyboard to and from work to use on my MacBook Pro (more on this subject later) everyday.

iPhone X

Technically, I received the iPhone X the day after Thanksgiving, but I am going to include it this year list because I will be admiring it to the end of the year. The iPhone [TEN] is the most spectacular iPhone since the iPhone 5S when Apple introduced the Touch ID.

Face ID. Augmented Reality. Super Retina. OLED. Full screen. The silver trim on the Silver edition. Wireless Charging. The much improved camera. I cannot pick one specific feature as to what makes the iPhone X great. I can only echo the sentiments of so many gadget reviewers.

This is the first phone I’ve purchased for personal use in a decade. The first and only device I’ve want on my personal at all times. 2018 technologies have a high threshold to surpass.

Yeti SB 5+

Can a product that does not require electricity be thought of as a technology? If you pounded up a steep hill climb or tried not to fly off the side of a mountain on a fast pace descent, you would agree a tremendous amount of technology goes into improving the physics of a mountain bike. My Yeti SB5+ is a remarkable achievement in technology.

This year I returned from a long mountain biking hiatus. I am too old I told myself. In the 8 years I was absent, mountain bike makers have gotten older too. And, the mountain bike have gotten smarter. With full suspension bikes being more common place, wider (plus size) tires for better trail grip, a single drive train, to the responsiveness of the Infinity Switch system, my Yeti does everything it can to help me enjoy the outdoors.

I work 8–10 hours a day on a computer. I go home to play or code for another 2–3 hours. Breaking me away from a computer is a difficult obstacle. Since getting the Yeti, I check the weather and head to the trails every time I can. Easily the most remarkable technology this year for me and the one to improve my health for years to come.

And the one that did not make it…

The 2016 MacBook Pro (delivered to me in early 2017) should in all accounts be on my top technologies list. Apple introduced the Touch ID into the laptop. They gave us a Touch Bar, which required them to essentially incorporate an Apple Watch into the laptop architecture. Ontop of all that, this laptop is most perfectly sized (weight and thickness) laptop I ever used. The design is impeccable.

However, I cannot stand to use the keyboard. One of the primary ways I interact with the device and I cannot stand to use it. This feature drove me to look for my now beloved Vortex 75% mechanical keyboard. Many other podcasters have lamented about their likes and challenges of the keyboard. Although I have not yet had any physical issues (knock on wood), I feel like I am popping air pockets when I type. Add insult to injury, the ill sized cursor keys and lack of a physical Escape key have led me to remap my keyboard.

The MBP should be on the list. I adding it here as a missing hole. A glaring reminder of how important the smaller details are to the overall success of a product. Perhaps, next year Apple will listen to the tech press and revise the keyboard to prioritize usability over size. Here’s hoping.

--

--