Bill Grams-Byrne
2 min readDec 9, 2022

Word on the street.
A poem inspired by the opening line of a poem by Alex Godly.

Photo by Matt Noble on Unsplash

Word on the street

Word on the street, is not on the street, it’s tapped out on phones on commuter trains, then sent out to the ether to return inside your brain.

As eager fingers tap on screens the words are multiplying
Like ants across the globe they crawl into my head they crackle, to spark more words in me.

The word on the street, is not on the street, it flares in tweets that love or hate, malevolent algorithms can confuse, 'cause the word ain’t on the street no more The word has lost its face.

Word on the street, is not on the street, it’s in the sky, where real birds tweet, it’s in your head and in mine too, it’s on the phone you’re looking at, words squat in your head, mourning the truth that rises up
The street is just a memory.

As eager fingers tap on screens the words are multiplying
Like ants across the globe they crawl, to find a home in me.

The word on the street, is not on the street, washed up like flotsom on distant shores on and on the words expand the words have lost their faces.

The street is just a memory.

Photo by Mad Rabbit Tattoo on Unsplash
Bill Grams-Byrne

I've taken to writing and reading quite late on in my life but I feel like I am just at the beginning. Read something from me as I live my life in reverse.