My Last Trip to Boston

Boston probably isn’t the worst place I have ever been but I don’t recommend going there in the winter.

Billy Jones

--

Photo by Andrew Spencer on Unsplash

Return to the daze of my youth.

The last time I went to Boston the train got snowed-in when we reached Washington, DC. Before then I hadn’t known snow could be a problem for Amtrac, or any other kind of train. I guess you’re never too old to learn.

I went to Boston to pick up a truck I had just purchased for my employer, and as I was the only person working there who had a CDL… You get it. I spent the night in the railway station.

Early the next morning they put us on a bus to NYC where we waited for hours before boarding a bus to Boston. Buses are allowed on many roads where trucks are not welcome. We traveled on several of those roads throughout the trip making far better time than I had ever been able to make while driving heavy trucks. Buses are also allowed in lanes trucks are prohibited from using. We left the Capitol on the Baltimore-Washington Parkway, then made our way to I95 and then on to the Holland Tunnel where we exited into the Greyhound bus station.

That bus trip was my first time crossing from New Jersey to New York via the tunnel as most tractor-trailers are too tall to fit inside. For those of you who have never…

--

--

Billy Jones

I'm just a retired long-haul trucker who exchanged his rig for pen, paper, and keyboard. Read more at http://Wackemall.com