"So you don't have a CS degree and think you are a developer?"

Biraj Ghosh
2 min readJan 31, 2019

--

"So you don't have a CS degree and think you are a developer?"

This was my first interview experience as a web developer. It might sound a bit rude but if a mechanical engineer wants a developer job in your company then it's kind of understandable. For self-taught developers like me not having a computer science degree must be the most common insecurity they experience on a regular basis. As you gain more experience you feel more confident but hearing something like this at the start of your career might stop you from exploring the development space.

Currently (about 6 years later) I'm working for 3 companies as a developer, 2 of them are in Y combinator W19 Batch. I also run my own SAAS called Tidily.io and lastly I teach web development to a few local students who are in the same place now where I was few years ago.

After all these years of sleepless nights I think it didn't had to be this hard. I could have learned to code much efficiently and faster, getting a job could have been much easier if I only knew what I know now.

Well I can't go back in time and guide myself but may be I can help newcomers in this space. Unfortunately there aren't any such platforms. Which is why I started building unschooled — a space where you'll get:

  1. Hand picked developer jobs that does not require any degree.
  2. Community picked resources and tutorials that previously helped experienced non-cs developers.
  3. A community forum where we can help each other, weather you are an experienced developer or just getting started.

So if you are someone who have been through this journey like me or someone just getting started, feel free to join me and help make this platform a reality.
You can signup for the invite list here.

--

--