Curated Event Microsite

Ironhack Week 6 — Curated Event Microsite

Birte Brauer
3 min readJan 7, 2020

In Week 6 I designed a curated Event Microsite for the german city, Hanover. It is about a firework competition in the Herrenhäuser Gärten, Hanover.

About the Competition:

In 1991, the International Fireworks Competition celebrated its premiere, making it Germany’s first and one of the most popular of its kind. On five summer evenings, the world’s best pyrotechnicians compete in the Herrenhäuser Gärten.

First steps

First I decided to do a visual competitor Analysis for knowing how others do websites with the content of Fireworks. I found most ones use dark mode, which makes sense due to the black sky where fireworks take place.

Next, I researched for the Persona who visit an event like this. There are two types of people, but both are culturally interested and open-minded.

Moodboard, Branding

The competition is a very special event, which is very arty and elegant due to the location where it takes place.

Next steps

After Sitemapping, Card sorting, Lo-Fi Wireframing and building a user flow, I just jumped into Hi-Fi and worked out three different visual outcomes of the website:

I asked for some feedback in my class and decided to go with the left option.

First Style Tile, some changes came with the testing

Wireframing and Prototyping

With Sketch, I worked out the screens for my user flow and imported those to Principle. I added some interactions to finish my Prototype.

Responsive Design

In the end, I worked out two responsive Designs. One for Phone and one for Tablet.

The Prototypes

Learnings

In Week 6 I learned a lot about working with Principle and found that I really like interactive Design. I hope to learn a lot more about Principle in my next projects!

--

--

Birte Brauer

Frontend Developer and UX/UI Designer with a background in fashion design. www.birtebrauer.de