Responding to Pickup Lines

Bishamira
4 min readJul 25, 2020

--

Photo by Pratik Gupta on Unsplash

With 2020 being a year of quarantine and lockdown, several have presumed their single life is going to last (hopefully, only a little) longer. Even though some think that dating is impossible in such circumstances, and might have started to accept their forever single lives, trust me, dating apps and online dating websites have taken a BOOM! While this gives one hope on finding ‘The One’, the only other disadvantage of this is to deal with pickup lines. Some pickup lines have become a cliche, while some just remain pathetic. So, here’s our evaluation on some pickup lines and how to respond to them xD

Well, here I am. What are your other two wishes?

Response: One for you to go away and another to help me figure out the Riemann Hypothesis.

Just imagine, I could have had anything, and I chose for you to leave me alone. Get the hint. Please. Although honestly, it was audacious of you to assume I wished for you cause what makes you think I am going to wish for a 5’5 foot tall liability who is going to ask me “oh you sound angry, is it that time of the month again?”. No dude, it is you.

Hey, my name’s Microsoft. Can I crash at your place tonight?

Response: Are you the second page of Google? Cause you don’t have what I am looking for.

Honestly speaking, I love techie pick up lines, but usually, the person using it reaches his maximum limit at print(‘Hello World’). Plus it’s high time you update yourself, give me a good AI pickup line, and maybe I’ll consider your case. Or even better, a pickup line generated by an AI system. Cuz, I am pretty sure an AI system could generate a better time-relevant pickup line than you could.

Do you like raisins? How do you feel about a date?

Response: I don’t give a fig about you cause I don’t think we would be grape together.

Also, everything happens for a raisin, so please don’t feel about this rejection. Yes, I do have too many dry fruit puns, and well they are way better than the pickup line you used. Also, the date fruit looks like a cockroach. So no thanks, I honestly don’t like dates.

If I could rearrange the alphabet, I’d put ‘U’ and ‘I’ together.

Response: Really, I did instead put ’N’ and ‘O’ together!

Honestly, this is just too cliche. It might have worked if one had sent this 15 years ago. Better timing sense next time. Also maybe take the hint that alphabet pickup lines don’t work from the fact that ‘J’ and ‘K’ are already together.

My love for you is like diarrhoea, I just can’t hold it in.

Response: This doesn’t get a comeback cause it’s just too shitty.

Pick up lines are cringe in general. Why do you want to make it weird and disgusting as well?

I must be a snowflake, because I’ve fallen for you.

Response: You are definitely a snowflake, because you seem flakey.

All you have to do is have some authenticity in your pick up lines. When jobs are expecting specific cover letters based on each organization, can’t one expect a unique and specialized pickup line?

Are you from Tennessee? Because you’re the only 10 I see

Response: I am, but you don’t seem like you are from Tennessee.

There is Norway that pickup line could have worked for anyone. I like pickup lines which are sweet, not ones which classify a human on a scale (I am assuming of 1 to 10). Also, on a sweetness scale, I would say that pickup line was worth one Cuba sugar.

Do you believe in love at first sight — or should I walk by again?

Response: I believe in love at first sight but not in second chances. Sorry, I can’t even say better luck next time :)

Again another cliche line. This might have worked in the 1960s when love, at first sight, was really a thing people believed in. But yes, feel free to move away, cause you are blocking my view.

You’re so beautiful that you made me forget my pickup line.

Response: And you couldn’t think of another one, so I am assuming it’s the same one you used for everyone before me.

Sometimes the best pickup line is no pickup line. You can’t disappoint us with bad pickup lines if you don’t have a pickup line in the first place. But you forgot what you had? That’s like a fifth-grader cooking up an excuse for forgetting to do his homework.

Are you a parking ticket? Because you’ve got FINE written all over you.

Response: Are you fLAMEable? Because you have LAME written all over you.

Do I need to justify why this is a bad pickup line? Again a cliche and old school pick up line. Just a small piece of free advice, first impression matters. Period.

Are you a bank loan? Because you got my interest.

Response: Honestly, I would rather be a-loan

I might have gotten your interest, but you surely didn’t get mine. Googling top pick up lines and copy-pasting it shows no efforts on your part. So, goodbye :)

So that was my evaluation for some of the common pickup lines, but I would like to use one final pickup line for all our dear readers:

Clap, Share and Follow us while you are here!

Also, for more such entertainment, you can find us here :)

--

--

Bishamira

Just a pair of procrastinating next door neighbour girls | Humorous | Movie Fanatics | Friday Night in kind of Ambiverts | Overthinking? Nah, Under-thinking xD