7 things I wish I had known when I was 18

can you remember what it was like?

HarmonyHub
5 min readJul 5, 2022
courtesy of unsplash

Developing into an adult. Having to accept personal responsibility for your life. The world is opening up to you. Having to make decisions and chart a course for your life all of a sudden.

Exciting, frightening, and perplexing all at the same time.

Looking back, are there anything you wish you’d known? Here are a few things I’ve discovered that I wish someone had informed me when I was eighteen.

1. You are not fixed; you are always evolving.

I used to believe that I was born with certain traits, skills, and tendencies. That was until I understood I wasn’t wired to be fixed, but rather malleable.

courtesy of unsplash

I only need to alter my attention if I want to be happier. Maybe it involves keeping a gratitude notebook, expressing thankfulness to others, and practising seeing things in a good light.

You don’t need to be afraid of failing since you’re continually growing, and everything is a stepping stone to a new ability, skill, or behaviour.

--

--

HarmonyHub

🌟 Exploring the cosmos of ideas and discovery at HarmonyHub! Join us on a journey of knowledge and inspiration. 🚀🌌