An Everlasting Radio Romance: How Radio Shaped My Life and Career

bjmurphyshow
2 min readJun 11, 2024

My Career has been like a long love song. Peaks and valleys and blissful moments of conquest. Have you ever put a song on repeat that meant something to you that you could never get tired of hearing it ever.
I just can’t shake the melody. It reminds me of myself, and what I love everytime i hear it. “I’m strung out over you my dear radio career. You have taken me places I thought I would never live and experience. You have made my dreams come true, and you have shown me what a nightmare looks like. You have made me happy and you have made me so sad. But I long to be in your arms always. As long as I live I am yours. No matter the ups and downs, no matter the price I have to pay to be with you, there is no way I could live without you. I know you didn’t mean to hurt me when you did, and I forgave you with my whole heart. I’ve been so in love with you since I was a teenager. We grew up together and now we have grown old together. I’m holding your hand so tight and you are still holding mine tightly too. We are in love till death do us part.I remember you staring at me while I was eating breakfast in the morning as a child growing up in Goldsboro NC. You were a green AM radio sitting on the dryer greeting me every morning with those 70’s soft rock classics and that familiar voice giving the lunch menus with laughter. All I know is the only thing I had on my mind when I got back home from school was for us to be locked up in the room practicing this new thing. I was falling in love with something I could not explain. I just wanted to be alone with you for hours everyday understanding what I was becoming without intention. I’m writing this because I was just listening to the vibration of a song I had not heard in a while, and it reminded me of my love for this thing called radio. A love supreme is what this is. This love affair began in 1980, and here we are 44 years later reminding me never to deny what you truly love. As I look at the change of the two worlds, terrestrial and digital, I am setting my rocket ship to land on the digital planet and letting that same love guide me. Dame Dash recently said Do what you do for love only. Let’s recreate our passion for what we love on the digital side. 1. Audio. 2. Video. 3.Images. 4.Written

--

--