How to use the Choice in management principles and everyday life.

Brian Nicewander
4 min readApr 27, 2022

--

Before this class, I have never heard of the Choice book. When I first started reading it, I did not know what I was going to think about it because, in my opinion, it started kind of slow, and it was a daughter trying to learn from her dad when her kids did not get in the way. But the more I read it, the more I started to like it, and I thought it was a good book overall; I learned a lot of things from this book. The book’s main points are that everyone wants to have a meaningful life, but not many people do it. The dad has the daughter read different reports about how he did business, and then the daughter asks questions, and you can learn a lot from this book.

I learned from reading the Choice that you need to be able to talk to people and be nice. Because if you are not friendly to people, they will not work with you. For example, if we had a group project in management principle class, and we had to make a flyer for an event coming up. If you or anyone else did not work well together with the other people on the team, making the flyer will become a lot harder. Because no one will want to listen to each other ideas, and then you will argue over what is the best way to do it. So it will take twice as long to do it then if you got along with each other.

Sometimes when you are going to school, it is easy to get tired and not want to do your homework or whatever is required of you in class. The Choice talks about having the stamina to do many different things like overcoming failure and being able to think clearly. (Goldratt & Goldratt-Ashlag, 2008, p 163) This can be used in this class and any other class because you need to learn to pace yourself when it comes to homework and anything else you do in class. Because if you wait till the last minute to turn in all your homework, you might have to pull an all-nighter, and then you are going to be tired and not have the stamina to do what you need to do.

It is always a good idea to come up with an idea of what you are going to do every day when it comes to homework and everyday life. The Choice taught me that even if you have one idea, it is good to come up with more if possible because the new ideas could be better. The other thing is when it comes to homework, your first idea could be good, but then something could change out of your control, and if it was the only idea you had, then you could be in trouble, but if you had more than one idea, you have something to fall back on.

The Choice plus experience in life has shown me that there can always be something holding you up, a bottleneck if you would. All it takes is one thing; you hold yourself up, and if you do not find out what it is, it can make it very hard on you. For example, when it comes to this class, if you are not good at making maps in Plectia, that could be your bottleneck, and intel you get better at them, it will hold you up. You can get better at them by practicing how to do them, even if it does not have to do with an assignment. Once you get better at making them, then you can move faster through the whole assignment.

When you are working on any assignment, a Pleactica, for example, it is easy to overthink the assignment and make it a lot harder than it needs to be. I am not saying do not put thought into it but just do not put so much thought into it that you do nothing. I have heard many teachers say when you are taking a test, go with your first thought because a lot of times, you can have the answer right and then change it and get it wrong because you overthought the question. The Choice talks about this, and I have overthought many things in my life. I have even lost sleep overthinking things. I know we do not have tests in this class, but you can overthink any assignment; this blog is a good example of something you can overthink. So just relax and do your best and put some thought into it but not too much.

I have listed a couple of things that the Choice has brought up that I have lived myself in a different way because the Choice talks about it from a business point, and I have lived them through school. I listed the items above on how you can use them for this class, but overall, the tips I talked about are also good for just life in general and, as the Choice points out in business and management, if you ever decide to go down that path.

References

Goldratt, E, & Goldratt-Ashlag, E. (2008). The Choice. Great Barrington: The North River Press Publishing Corporation.

--

--