Journal Entry #2: Island of Polyphemus

--

Telemachus,

Your father has done me a great disservice. I know we both have a similar father and son relationship. I am Polyphemus the cyclops, son of Poseidon. Odysseus deceived me after I trapped him in my cave. He told me his name was “Nohbdy” and then gave me wine so that I would become drunk. Then while I was sleeping he stabbed me with a spear in my eye, blinding me. When I called for my brothers I told them Nohbdy deceived me so they did not help and your father was able to escape. I think he got out by hiding under my sheep but I can’t tell because I happen to be blind, thanks again to your father!

It may have been wrong of me to trap him and eat some of his crew members but do you have any idea what kind of trouble he got himself into with my father? This story may make your father sound like a hero, but I can assure you that his actions were not heroic, only stupid. I truly feel bad for you that Odysseus will take such a long time to return home, but it is his own fault. He didn’t even have to come to my island, he came out of curiosity. I just thought you should know that your father was violent with me so my father will do the same to him.

From,

Polyphemus

--

--