Drawing + Final Planning

Devon Blackwell
2 min readOct 29, 2019

--

Final Planning

When brainstorming for my final I came across 2 datasets that struck my interest, one of which was a set of data documenting the amount of movie ticket sales in the United States and Canada from 1977 to 2018. What I enjoyed about the data set was the fact that they provided the total box office earnings of each year since 1977, the percentage in change compared to last years box office, the number of releases, the average gross of the year and the top selling release. I wish the data would’ve been more specific in terms of actual ticket sales, although that may be too hard to track. I also wish it was more specific to locations, ie. where the most tickets where sold in the U.S.

Another set of data I came accross was a dataset created by snapchat in regards to the ads that are posted in their app. I loved this dataset because of how thorough it is in explaining which companies pay for ads and how much they contribute and the factors that go into who actually sees them such as age, gender, location, etc. One thing I didn’t like was the fact that some categories were way to broad or didn't really have any information at all. For example when organizing the age groups targeted by each company, it was very unspecific, but that can easily be fixed by cleaning the data.

Looking at data at this point in the semester is fun because I forget that I know how to do something and it’s really interesting to look through datasets when you can actually understand them and know how to conquer the information.

--

--