Melanin — All The Reasons to Love the Dark Skin You’re In

BlackExcellence.com
2 min readNov 27, 2017

--

You know how we, as black people, have been telling everyone how awesome it is to be us for generations? They tried not to hear it. Even while they stole our music, swiped our fashion, and purposely tanned themselves to mimic that color they claimed to hate so much.

I’m a dark-skinned man. In terms of complexion, I’m somewhere between Morris Chestnut and Taye Diggs. So, in other words, I look as good as Morris and Taye. No further questions.

But, so many of us have that story of how terrible it was to be so dark and have that stigma attached to the skin we were born in. I got beat up and hated on even by people in my own family. My birth mother once said my skin was “unlucky” and that it would hold me back in life. I allowed that thinking to fester in my mind for decades. And it held me back tremendously.
The great thing, however, is that I love my deep-chocolate skin, and I am saddened that I wasted so many years hating it. Here’s why.

Prevents AMD

Age related macular degeneration (AMD), is just the natural worsening of eyesight, blurry vision, etc. I wear glasses, my dad has glaucoma, and I have various family members with eyesight-related issues that require cannabis use…I’m sure. *Cough* Yet, even with all those issues, my parents found it relatively easy to catch me with a shoe whenever I was doing something wrong. Like, scary accuracy. Shoes would fly around corners and attack my ass with the force of a Mike Tyson punch. Weird. Even physics bows to the wishes of a black grandmother’s shoe, I suppose.

Read the rest of the article here: https://blackexcellence.com/melanin-all-the-reasons-to-love-the-dark-skin-youre-in/

--

--

BlackExcellence.com

BlackExcellence.com is a digital platform dedicated to sharing noteworthy, empowering, and entertaining stories in the Black community.