Obsessed with Obsidian — How to use templates in your notes

blackgem
3 min readAug 31, 2023

--

I was recently watching an Offensive Security video and the trainer showed the most amazing way to use Obsidian….with templates! 😃

I first discovered this really cool tool from a John Hammond’s youtube video but I didn’t pay much attention at that time, however, since I found out how to use templates, my life has changed.

Now let’s get into business.

Installing Obsidian

Create your Vault and a folder named Templates

Make sure that Templates is enabled in the settings/core plugins

Install Templater from community plugins

Download some templates from an Obsidian Vault

Copy the folders into your previously created Templates Folder

Define the path of your Templates in settings/core

You can insert any template from the folders we copied. You can also use Templater to create your templates or you can find many more online.

Now click on the Templater icon in a new document and select a template 😃 In my case I selected Obsidian-Git template.

It’s better with XML tags so try that too!

I hope you find it useful and please let me know any other fun templates to use! 🖤

--

--

blackgem

Offensive and Defensive Security : Red team, pentesting, threat intelligence, threat hunting and sometimes GRC #awscommunitybuilders #womcy