Privilege

Blackgirljudge
2 min readJul 9, 2023

--

Privilege is defined as a special right, advantage, or immunity granted or available only to a particular person or group. This view of privilege is often equated with special rights reserved for the wealthy, which may have the effect of restricting the ability of people to appreciate the privileges in their lives that are not considered advantageous or special by society.

Like most people, I once equated privilege with wealth. The idea that a working class person like myself could be privileged offended my senses. In fact, I had a huge fight with a friend who dared call me privileged. I was dumbfounded by his words because after all, I graduated from public university on student loans and was about to begin law school on more student loans. What is privileged about any of that, I asked? In response, he laughed, equally dumbfounded at my narrow view of what it means to be privileged.

Looking back at that conversation, I now laugh at me. The fact that I had the opportunity to attend university and graduate school is a privilege in a country where as of 2009, less than 14 percent of the population held a graduate degree. Yes, I am talking about this United States of America.

Living a life of experience and appreciating every thing around us are privileges that unappreciated. The privilege to hike an eco farm in Barbados; the privilege to run in the countryside while birds chirp; the privilege to dance on the beach in Ghana while the sun sets — these are some of the most exciting moments of my life that did not require wealth to experience.

Those moments when I allowed myself to live effortlessly and fully, are some of the most privileged of my life. I hope that you all can look in and around you, lean into the experiences happening in your surroundings, and enjoy some of the privileges your world has to offer as you enter into the second quarter of the year.

XOXO

Black Girl Judge

This story was originally published on blackgirljudge.com

--

--

Blackgirljudge
0 Followers

I write stories aimed at pushing us to be the happiest, most authentic, least toxic versions of ourselves. Also, a children's book author. blackgirljudge.com