Workout ’til you…puke?

M.J. Falke
2 min readJan 10, 2017

--

That’s how it’s supposed to work right?

Disclosure: Not my shoe.

I’ve tried the ‘lose weight, get healthy’ New Year’s resolution every year. I’ve even dropped some hard earned cash on gym memberships a couple of times. I’ll go for a couple weeks, before inevitably I’ll find some excuse or other to stop going, drop the membership and resign myself to being overweight for the rest of my life.

Besides, cookies are life!

Today, I might have changed that.

My father in law has a bad habit of doing things without asking, and his latest possible faux pas was to pay for a gym membership for my husband and I. On top of that, he’s paying for me to work with a trainer as well. Plus, he’s so keen on my husband and I going to the gym that he’s been driving out to pick us up for our workouts.

Today, was my first day at the gym. I met the trainer, and got down to work.

I made it through 45 minutes before I threw up.

The trainer wasn’t working me too hard, I’ve just been sedentary for far too long.

I’ll be heading back on Thursday, armed with a water bottle and having actually eaten breakfast, which I didn’t do this morning.

Red-faced gym selfie.

So there it is, my first sweaty, flushed gym selfie, and the hope that maybe I can actually change something for the better.

Like what you see? Sign up for my newsletter, or just click that little heart to show so love.

--

--

M.J. Falke

Adrift by day, author by night. Lives in Florida with a husband, two kids and a limited supply of patience.