How I learned to Set and Smash my Goals

Joel Blades
4 min readNov 13, 2023

Are you tired of setting goals and not achieving them? Me to.

Photo by Nghia Le on Unsplash

New Year, New You?

It’s almost that time of year again. New Year, new me? Sound familiar? It sure does to me. It used to be every year I would have these big new goals. I would take time to sit down and write them out and everything.

But then a month later? Still at the same spot on them. No progress.

Well, I got pretty sick of this, it felt like I was starting to waste year after year. I had no vision, no clarity of what I wanted to accomplish that year.

Well then, I got one of my biggest ideas yet, and sure enough, another year another big dream. I want to join the military and make it into Marine Special Operations. A difficult task to do for anyone let alone a lazy and undisciplined kid.

Here is how I made it happen.

Got real clear on my Vision

The first thing I did was to be honest with myself.

Was this something I wanted? Why?

The 2nd part of that is the most important. You have to find your why. If you don’t have a why, you won’t have something to drive you on those difficult days.

--

--

Joel Blades

Special Operations Veteran, Proud Father, Avid Dog lover.