Swiss Cheese in Switzerland

Mastering the art of cheese, bread and fruit. On the go.

Taken with an old school digital camera, balancing on my bike seat. That travel jacket was EVERYTHING to me.

2004 was the year I took advantage of my vacation days. I was working at Orbitz, the height of pop under, competing with every travel site under the sun and the true meaning of what it was like to work for a startup.

It was intense. It was hard. I don’t regret a moment of it.

A trip to the ER

I was self aware to know that I needed to slow down. Why? I was sitting at my desk and my left side started to feel funny. I called my doctor and she said she couldn’t see me — I needed to get to the ER. Like a surreal dream, I told my co-worker I was heading out to the ER. I somehow got myself to the corner of Wacker and Adams, hailed a cab and went to the hospital near my apartment. Always seeking efficiency, I thought it would be better to go to a hospital near home, so I had a short commute to my apartment after that.

In the ER quarters, I was hooked up to a bunch of machines. Sticky things were on my chest and I was told to take some deep breaths. Tests came back normal, but the doctor on duty warned me that if I didn’t slow down to smell some more roses, something drastic could happen. That’s all I needed to hear.

--

--

Blagica (blah-ghee-tsa) Bottigliero

(blah-gee-tsa) Emmy winning creator of things. Digital veteran who likes to write stories and dance to 90s music while shopping at Target with her kids.