V

blaine steele
1 min readJul 26, 2016

--

Groom
I came to your city.
I lived in its dirt.
I consumed copiously.
I took you like drugs.

Bride
I sleep.
I dream of your voice.

Groom
Open to me.
My head
is full of cancer.
My hair is
wet with acid.

I am naked.
I am clean.

Bride
I opened to him.
He withdrew.
His voice was death.
I looked for him
but could not find him.
I called him.
He did not answer.

They found me.
They hurt me.
They took away my clothes.

Daughters of night.
If you see me lover
tell him I am sick
from love.

Chorus
Why is your lover
better than another?
Why is yours better
to ask us this favor?

Bride
My lover
is black
is white
his head
his hair
his eyes
his lips
his body
his legs
a wall of fire
a satellite
shining chrome
liquid hydrogen
deuterons–
positive and negative.

--

--