How I demonstrated a growth mindset recently

Blaise Pascal SHYAKA
2 min readSep 2, 2019

--

I am in my fourth month of learning web development. For a newbie like me, encountering new concepts is nothing, but the norm. However, Two weeks ago, things changed. I was going through the requirements for ADC challenge two, and my stomach bloated. I felt intimidated.

It is the feeling I had never felt before. As I was going through the document, It felt like reading a different kind of language. I had never heard of an endpoint before, let alone express, travisCI, Mocha, to name just three.

Let me admit it, I felt overwhelmed; probably because I knew how much work I had to put into, in order to cover all the subjects in such a short period of time. One of the resources I use to learn how to code is CodeCademy. It’s an online learning platform. It is designed in a way that push you to learn faster, but without getting overwhelmed. This time however, I had to double or even triple my usual learning pace.

Despite the intimidation, I chose to view the new challenge from a different angle. I decided to be proactive. Instead of feeling overwhelmed, I felt like it would be exciting to explore backend development from scratch and use the newly acquired knowledge to build ADC Challenge two.

It took me 10 days to learn express framework alone. I used it to build as many APIs as I could. I still have several subjects to cover in a very short period of time, in order to meet what is expected of me at the bootcamp. However, I am learning at a faster pace than ever before, and the journey has so far been exciting and fun.

Briefly, I am growing as a person day after day, and I am truly excited to see how far I can go.

--

--