Soup and smorg

Brian Lamb
2 min readMar 21, 2022

--

Tuesday 15th March

I have long wanted to feed those who must be fed for a full work week on one chicken. Thrift and respect for chickens drives me on. Three days is simple enough. Day one is roast chicken or a poached bird with pasta. Day two is fricassee or curry with the meat of thighs and legs and day three is, well, soup and smorg. Days four and five elude me at time of writing.

Smorg

My downfall is to advertise the smorg part of this meal too heavily. Smorgasbord conjures images of a laden table laden with many delicious dishes. The reality here is cheese and if you are lucky some salami. Any leftover is likely to be included in the hope that I will not have to look at it again reproaching me from the fridge. Extra points if I provide a baguette.

Chicken stock

Hurl or throw, depending on mood and range, all leftover chicken carcass into a large pot. Scar fridge for likely veg — the holy trinity of onion, carrot and celery is optimal but at least an elderly shallot can usually be found. Cover with water but don't fill the pot, just cover it. Season, sometimes I add a bay leaf, and put on lowest heat possible on hob. Leave this for a long time. I mean a very long time. Sometimes a whole day can pass. Sometimes those who must be fed remind me that “there is something on the stove still” In any case try and be patient more time = more flavour. After an eon sieve the remaining liquid and leave to cool.

Soup

Current soup efforts focus on recreating Proustian moments from my mother in law’s kitchen in which we did indeed receive chicken soup for the soul. Of course this is solidly unattainable nevertheless I persist. Rinse then soak Pearl Barley for a long time (in line with stock) add this and rinsed split peas to the pan with your stock. Then add chopped leek, carrot, parsley and sometimes a solitary spud. Simmer for a minimum of 20 minutes.

--

--