Why I Will Never Give Another Penny To John MacArthur’s “Grace To You”

Blessed
3 min readNov 13, 2020

--

I’m ashamed to say that for several years, I contributed money to pastor John MacArthur’s corporation called “Grace To You.” I believed that he was preaching the truth. I still believe that most of what he preaches is true. But his actions don’t line up with his words.

MacArthur preaches in his church, where he presumably makes a nice salary. Then for some unknown reason, he created another legal entity called “Grace To You” where he appears primarily to repackage his preaching. He makes another nice salary there. In one recent year, he made $402,444. For 20 hours of work per week.

You won’t find anything like this “Grace To You” entity in the Bible. In the Bible, you find local churches. Nobody is becoming wealthy off of the gospel in the Bible — you won’t find anyone like John MacArthur in the Bible. It’s a shame that his life doesn’t line up with the good doctrine he usually preaches.

The love of money makes people do strange things. It is the root of all evil, after all.

Then I found out that his son, Mark, is being charged with fraud by the SEC. Am I being unfair? John can’t be charged with Mark’s sins, can he? No, of course he can’t.

But it sure looks like the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. The only difference is that the tree makes money by peddling the gospel.

Oh, also, as I understand it, Mark is a board member of “Grace To You.”

Oh, also, ironically, he has a sermon out on his dad’s church’s website about how to manage your money.

But I digress.

Even armed with all of that knowledge (and a lot of other fishy things, like paying his son-in-law $millions), I was still willing to give John MacArthur the benefit of the doubt.

But then COVID-19 came. MacArthur started off ok, but soon descended into lying and disobeying the government. This article is good on that subject.

Read the article. He declared “there is no pandemic.” So add blasphemy and tempting God on top of lying and disobedience. There IS a pandemic, and the sovereign God whom MacArthur says he worships has sent it for His own glory. It’s blasphemy and tempting God to suggest otherwise.

Why would a person do that? Why lie, rebel, blaspheme, tempt? I don’t know his motivations for sure. But I do know that the love of money makes people do strange things. Whatever his motivations, a sinful heart is producing the fruit we’re seeing.

So there it is. I will not be lining his pockets any more with my hard-earned money.

And one final thing. You heard it here first — my prediction is that John “There is no pandemic” MacArthur will get COVID-19. You can’t tempt God likes he’s doing without God repaying.

I truly hope John repents of his folly before it’s too late.

--

--