Jesus Christ: The Original Social Media Influencer.

Blessing Nwankwo
3 min readApr 10, 2023

--

I was eating fried rice, sipping juice and mindlessly scrolling through social media when this idea came to me.

I had just seen the above picture with the caption 'oloun we outchea' on a post about social media during Bible times. After laughing for like 5 minutes, it occurred to me that, actually, Jesus was the original influencer, long before social media even existed.

So since I can’t share my Easter rice and juice with you, at least, I can share my thoughts. So please manage am like that😌, while you sit back and let me convince you in 5 reasons that Jesus Christ was actually the ultimate agba influencer.

1. Growing his followers
If you remember, Jesus began his earthly ministry with just 12 disciples. Fast-forward a couple of years, especially after his death and resurrection (which, by the way, is the reason for Easter), number grew to 5,000.

The book of Acts 4:4 records “But many of the people who heard the message believed it, so the number of men who believed now totaled about 5,000”.

Today, there are approximately 2.2 billion Christians all over the world. Show me any influencer that has that kind of numbers? 12 to 2 billion? Even some people’s G.O.A.T no reach! (catch your sub).

2. Giveaways.
Nobody ran giveaways like our dear Lord and personal Savior.

Remember the story of 5 loaves of bread and 2 fishes? Matthew 14:17 records the awe-inspiring event

“But Lord, we have only 5 loaves of bread and two fish", they answered. “bring it here” he said.

And then He proceeded to multiply it, so much so that they even had leftovers after feeding the entire population.

What I wouldn’t give to be in that congregation. Free food😩.

Till date, Jesus Christ remains the biggest afunimawobe there is. The gift that keeps on giving😊. The giver of our salvation, our blessings, our privileges and everything else we’ve come to enjoy.

3. Engagement
When building a brand or an influencer portfolio, one of the important questions that’s asked is your rate of engagement.

Our Lord Jesus had this on lockdown 100%.

Let me show you. Matthew 14:13 records:

“as soon as Jesus heard this, he left by boat to a remote area to be alone. But the crowd heard where he was heading, and followed on foot from many towns”

Make no mistakes. This “crowd” being referred to that “followed from many towns” number in excess of 5,000 people😩. Imagine that kind of crazy level of conversion; people willing to leave their homes and businesses to hear what the Lord had to say. Simply astronomic.

4. Hashtags
#ForgiveAndForgetChallenge, #RisenAndGlowing #Salvationpurrr #SaviourGoals, #MisterBehindEaster, #Gotochurch, #CanYourSaviourEver?.

There would have been so many hashtags to trend, guy😂. These ones are just the ones I can think of, off the top of my head. You can add yours.

5. Inspiration and Actual Influencing
Finally, over and above all my noise, Jesus Christ was the first one to actually embody the principles of “influencing” lives for the better.

The story of his life, death and resurrection continues to inspire people over the centuries. His message of love and redemption has helped many hurting people find meaning. Lives have been changed. Families transformed. Long-lasting peace of mind achieved. Shackles of sin broken. And most importantly, eternal life assured.
Show me any influencing that’s greater than that😊.

On that note, I hope I’ve been able to confuse and not to confuse you that Jesus is indeed the greatest influencer to ever exist. Happy Easter celebrations. Back to my rice and juice.

--

--

Blessing Nwankwo

I write about my experiences as a Gen-Zer living in Africa's most populous country.