Wrong

David Moser
1 min readJul 8, 2016

--

I have tried.

I have not been able to get it off my mind long enough to work, or write, or think.

We are wrong.

When we do not walk with our brothers and sisters so that they feel safe, we are not doing enough.

When we do not speak out at the oppression of our brothers and sisters, do not speak out when anyone spreads hatred or disrespect, we are not doing enough.

When we go to sleep in our beds, safe and warm, well-fed and loved, while any one of our brothers and sisters is not, we are not doing enough.

When we put money away against a rainy day, or the dread wolf, and one of our brothers and sisters worries about the rent, or the electricity, or how to keep away the dark, we are not doing enough.

I am an over-privileged white male, and I know all these things are true. There is no room to fudge or wiggle.

When my children were four years old, they knew this was true.
Whatever your religion.
No matter what philosophy you follow or imitate.
Every adult knows these things to be true, and I want to scream.

We need to make this happen, if we still want a world at all.

We white folks, we fucked it up.

We all know what to do. It is inexcusable that we have not done it.

To all people of color: I am sorry. I will do better. No excuses.

--

--

David Moser

Too many things, and also a farmer. I love my family more than anything else in the world, but cannot resist interesting problems in any field whatsoever.