Why High EQ Leads to Great Sex

Jessica Gold, Ph.D.
3 min readApr 15, 2020
Photo by Jonathan J. Castellon on Unsplash

I’ll be honest: my doorway into personal growth work & emotional intelligence (EQ) was sacred sexuality.

Otherwise, as an academic who adored the life of the mind, I found the idea of ‘connecting with the body’ vaguely distasteful and considered emotions to be signs of weakness.

But being stuck in my head and unable to be real and raw emotionally made for lousy sex.

The problem was, I didn’t value having good sex as an essential part of life, either.

I easily might have gone on like this for the rest of my life — in our work-obsessed world that values reason and financial success above all else, including our own health, I saw no other paradigm. With my traditional scientific education I would not have been open to a more holistic idea of life even if it had been presented to me.

It’s alarming, really, when you stop to think about it, that our view of life is we are either overworking or partying (and somewhere in there a lot of housework and child-rearing gets done).

There isn’t a paradigm where a sense of continued inner growth, emotional maturity, and healthy mind-body connection are valued.

Yet I have found that these are what makes life meaningful, bearable, and fascinating in my moment-to-moment experience. Overworking for some…

--

--

Jessica Gold, Ph.D.

Executive Relationships for Founders, Leaders, and Investors in Tech | www.bliss-science.com. Instagram: @drjessicagold