Blok sits down with a global photographer

Blok
3 min readApr 10, 2018

Blok has been busy researching the trials and tribulations of on-demand workers in the gig economy.

Today I’m bringing to you an interview with Vaida Savickaite, a photographer, working within the gig economy in Sydney. She has a portfolio of beautiful photographs taken in the international cafes and restaurants of Sydney and she has been completing gigs to compliment the weekly contract work she receives in the culinary social media space.

Introduction

I would like to discuss with her the experiences of the gig economy she has gained so far and hopefully see how Blok can alleviate any issues she may be having. Blok uses blockchain technology to connect employers and workers across the globe.

Claire: Hi Vaida, thanks for taking the time to share with us. What have your gigs consisted of so far?

Vaida: I’ve been completing small jobs that I can fit in around my contract work. I’ve been working as a freelance photographer and completed gigs ranging from taking photos at engagement parties to taking photos for a company who install structures in the public spaces of Sydney.

Claire: What have your experiences been like so far?

Vaida: My experiences have been mostly positive although I prefer to find work outside of the app for a couple of reasons; the first one being that I find it difficult to showcase my portfolio of work within my profile on the app I’ve been using, as you are not allowed to use external links. I’m only able to show a handful of photos which isn’t a good representation of the work I am capable of completing. I feel this doesn’t allow me to reach a wide audience. The other issue for me is the percentage of the payment that the app takes if my offer to complete the gig is accepted, it has quite an impact on the final payout.

Claire: Could you tell us if there are any other challenges you are facing working in this economy?

Vaida: There is very big competition. Every day I see gigs for very little money and there are still many people keen to complete those tasks. It’s very difficult to keep your normal rates on there and so I prefer to work outside of it.

Blok’s Solution

By leveraging a decentralized platform, like Blok, workers will be able to see an increase in pay and lessening of structural hierarchy as the workforce democratizes. Vaida will be able to set her rates and the market will decide using supply/demand. This allows Vaida to set a value to her time and earn on her terms.

In Vaida’s experience, the inefficiencies and unfairness in the current solutions has her working outside of technology for gigs. Blok makes it easier for on-demand workers to find gig across the world and the open API platform will ensure easy access for all those wanting to earn.

Blok simplifies and shortens the complexities of payments and ensures transparency and trust amongst groups. Time, cost, and quality frictions present in the current hierarchical model are eliminated by the use of smart contracts. Consumers, companies, and workers all benefit from Blok’s use of blockchain technology which improves efficiencies overall.

The gig economy presents a ripe opportunity for blockchain. Our ICO is currently ongoing and have the opportunity to directly impact the future of the on-demand workforce.

Join Blok’s ICO at https://blok.network/ico

Join the Blok community

Crowdsale

Homepage

Telegram

YouTube

Twitter

Facebook

Reddit

Author: Claire Richardson, Community at Blok

Claire is an experienced media professional from the UK, she gained most of her experience working in TV and Film Post Production facilities in London. She moved to Sydney in May 2017 and joined Blok’s marketing department in March.

--

--

Blok

Blok.network — Revolutionizing the global gig economy by introducing blockchain into the on-demand workforce