Cardi B’s “Money” as Dating Manifesto

At the end of the capitalist day, a dude spending money on or with a lady is signaling investment in the relationship.

Amanda Bloom
6 min readFeb 26, 2019
A still from Cardi B’s “Money” music video, which had nearly 52 million views on YouTube as of February 26, 2019.

I like boardin’ jets, I like mornin’ sex (Woo!)
But nothing in this world that I like more than checks (Money)
All I really wanna see is the (Money)
I don’t really need the D, I need the (Money)
All a bad bitch need is the (Money)

- Cardi B, “Money”

I am a millennial woman who has dated many millennial men. The first few weeks of these relationships have usually gone like this: Man pays for first date. I offer to pay for second date. If my offer is refused, I suggest going Dutch. Man often accepts. Thus begins a sometimes more and sometimes less equal rhythm of one treating the other to dinner, movies, shows, etc.

I have a self-made income. I don’t need a man to pay for me, and I like to do nice things for my partner. But here’s a snapshot of my last few years of dating: Too much time (and too many dollars) spent on a relationship with a financially and generally irresponsible art bro; followed by a near-ghosting (followed by long-term orbiting); followed by Cardi B releasing the Billboard chart-topper “Money;” followed by a surprise breakup New Year’s morning after paying my way for an expensive New…

--

--