Beginner’s Guide To Productivity With MacOS

1bluecat7
3 min readOct 18, 2016

--

“A computer is only as smart as its user” — programming teacher

1) abstract

Productivity, to me, is defined as the ability to convert time into an accomplished goal. My model of productivity is as follows: input -> mind -> goals. The following focuses on techniques I’ve developed that optimize how I input information into my head.

2) outline

A quick outline of my writing, in case all you want to know are the tools:

3) WasteNoTime

The internet has too much information to offer. Therefore, my ideal is to only input information relevant to my goals. I use the WasteNoTime safari extension to accomplish that ideal. In one sentence, this extension allows me to block websites that conflict with my goals.

4) macOS sierra keybindings

For me, it is essential to learn the basic keybindings of the operating system in order to speed up my productivity. The following are the core keybindings to core applications.

4.1)text editing

copy = command + C

paste = command + V

cut = command + X

undo = command + Z

redo = command + shift + Z

4.2)finder

home = command + shift + h

downloads = command + option + l

quicklook = command + space

get info = command + i

new folder = command + shift + n

duplicate = command + d

4.3)windows

close = command + w

hide = command + h

quit = command + q

4.4)safari

edit url = command + l

back = command + [

forward = command + ]

find = command + f

new tab = command + t

4.4)other keybindings

There are numerous other keybindings available. Most of them are defined in the link I put up in the outline. Also, a very important thought: almost any import GUI command has an associated keybinding. Use that thought to guide your learning.

5)text editors

A text editor is the first step, for me at least, into getting ideas to be remembered. It is easily my most important tool. I use a mix of sublime text and vim, but that is only a preference. MacOs comes with an app called textedit that is a perfect start for beginners. I recommended knowing all the keybindings in your text editor of choice and practice as much as possible, learning techniques such as touch typing along the way.

6)computer ambiance

This is mostly an opinion, but a good one I think. I define computer ambiance as a computer environment that does not give you a headache. For me I hide the dock, I make sure the wallpaper matches my environment, and I listen to ambient music. This is purely preference, but important for people like me who spend most of their productive time on the computer. The gist is this: make your computer easy on your eyes and ears.

7)conclusion

This is a quick starter kit inspired by my love of creating a productive environment. I hope that for whoever reads this, it helps them start on a path to accomplishing their dreams. For dreams are the best argument to keep on living.

8) youtube video

If you want an in depth explanation of this post or you want to see my productive environment in detail, I’ve posted a youtube video at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cLEe5kfP054

9)on the next episode…

More productivity tips, but this time with a focus on beginning programmers.

--

--