I Didn’t Know I Could Play the Piano Until…

Christabella
3 min readNov 20, 2023

“We can do only what we think we can do, we can be only what we think we can be, we can have only what we think we can have. What we do, what we are, what we have, all depend upon what we think” — Robert Collier

Since I was a kid, my family has had a deep connection with music. Not only did we love it, but each member of my family seemed to have a natural talent for playing multiple instruments, well, except for me. Even though I’ve always loved music, just like my family does, and it has always been a big part of me too, strangely, I couldn’t play any musical instruments.

I remember when I attempted to play the piano in my living room when i was a kid. Since my dad used to play it every day, I knew that playing the piano must involve using both hands simultaneously. However, when I tried it for the first time, my brain doubted, “Seriously? There’s no way you could manage two different movements at once,” so, I eventually gave up and concluded that music just wasn’t my talent.

Long story short, about 8 years later, I met a friend who was surprisingly incredibly skilled at playing musical instruments. Not only does he play guitar, bass, and drums, but he also mastered the piano. Every time he sent me a video of himself playing an instrument, it somehow reignited a strong urge within me to start learning the piano again

So, after class, I sat down and started to play the piano in my living room. It had been 8 years since I last learned how to play, and, of course, as you guys expected, I couldn’t play it at all. But no worries, this time was different, I didn’t give up. I had this belief in myself that playing the piano wasn’t an impossible thing to do.

And guess what? Surprisingly, within only 2 days, I managed to play the piano with both hands, despite believing it was impossible for the past 8 years. Crazy, isn’t it? Well, not to say I suddenly became a pro like Mozart, but at least playing the piano is no longer an impossible thing to do.

Sometimes it’s funny how we tend to limit our own potential by thinking that we can’t do it. We label ourselves as “not good enough” or “incapable,” even though we haven’t even tried enough yet. What I’m trying to say here is that a “belief” can turn something that seems impossible into possible, and something possible into impossible.

So, if there’s something you’ve been dreaming of, something you’ve convinced yourself you can’t do, it’s time to flip the script. Believe in yourself, believe that you can, and you’ll be amazed at how you break your own limits.

--

--