Blogpost 01: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love My FMP

Tori Jing
2 min readMay 25, 2023

--

How time flies! I am now standing at the starting point of my Final Major Project (FMP). It seems happened in an instant since I entered MA Service Design at LCC. I still remember I was overwhelmed and upset when cooperating with classmates from different cultures and professional backgrounds for the first time. Now, I have enjoyed the dynamic of working in different teams and with different people. But now, back to the individual work setting, I was panicked.

I talked about my concerns and struggles with my FMP to my mentor Lawrence. He generously shared his experience and taught me how to break down the big goal. I started to map out my FMP topic in this way.

Many people use the diagram with three circles to plan their career development. I regard my FMP as my personal development goal for MASD. and I tried to map out my FMP topic from the following three perspectives: “what I value”, “what I expertise” and “what the world needs”.

What I Value

Does this topic match my values?

Is this topic I feel deeply about?

What I Expertise

Is this field I am good at?

Can I apply and display my skills and knowledge through this topic research?

Passion: I am willing to spend six months exploring and am determined to overcome potential obstacles.

Vision: The project will have a positive impact on the world, as well as on my personal development

Mission: It is feasible based on my personal ability and knowledge, and not far from reach.

My passion is transdisciplinary knowledge integration. (I am an interdisciplinary designer.)

My mission is socially responsive design- that locates the designer as a facilitator of flexible solutions that meet local needs and resources (I want to get rid of the role of the traditional architect- top-down experts, that’s why I transfer to Service Design)

My vision is “design for future climate adaptability/resilience” and facilitate eco-socio-business balance. (I want to move a bit into my uncomfortable zone, business and economy.)

Through mapping, the intersection of my passion, vision and mission gradually appears, which I define as Climate Services, supporting science-based and user-specific climate information for climate services, different stakeholders through interdisciplinary collaboration ultimately help society adapt flexibly to climate change.

I will dive into climate services, trying to map out stakeholders and propose HMW questions on different scales.

--

--