The Cummer Museum of Art and Gardens: A magnificent walking story

bmasterbryce
4 min readApr 20, 2020

While at the Cummer Museum of Art and Gardens, I visited many beautiful and intricate exhibitions. The one that particularly caught my eye was called, “Eclectic Ecology: Landscape Perspectives from Ponce De León to Florida Man.” While walking through it, I discovered some of the most beautiful and historical paintings that I have every laid eyes on. The entire exhibition was like walking through history right before my eyes, with each painting telling their own story. The realistic, stylized, and historical works of art were made on all different mediums showing either complex landscapes or portraits of important people. This was my most favorite exhibition because I felt like I connected to the history of the works and was able to understand what they were trying to portray. Being someone who was born and raised in Florida, Ponce De León was someone who I am very interested in learning about and I believe that he made such a tremendous impact on how Florida came to be what it is today.

Out of all of the amazing works in this exhibition, the one that stood out to me in a meaningful way was entitled, “Ponce De León in Florida.” This work is my favorite because it shows such a wonderfully detailed landscape that makes me feel like I am right there in the picture. I also enjoyed how it showed the historical context of how the Spanish…

--

--