SKETCH VISUAL DESIGN EXERCISE_BRENDA MATOS

Brenda Joan Matos
2 min readMay 28, 2018

--

As part of the of the User Interface module of the Iron Hack pre-work, we were challenged to recreate two screens for a travel app, using the Sketch app and the couple of tools we practiced with thus far. The screens should look like the following:

Travel App example Mock-up
Brenda Matos’ Travel App Mockup

And so I began, confident and diligent. And what I found was that as intuitive and user friendly as the Sketch app is, the task became momentarily daunting. I became overwhelmed with the many layers and found it difficult to click on specific objects in order to manipulate them. And then I remembered all those great short-cuts that were provided in the YouTube videos and the module. Once I began to implement them while I worked, the anxiety of the task at hand melted away and it began to flow. What I realized though was that the saying, “Rome was not built in a day”, never rang truer as it took me over 3 hours to complete these two screens. The logo was the most difficult part, and I personally was not happy with the result. I may keep playing with it and add an edit to this post. I could not get those lines to smooth out without throwing off the parts that I felt were perfect. The greatest takeaway from this activity was practice with grouping the layers; which helped keep the objects organized and the elements of the pages easily accessible. Although my mockups aren’t exact replicas, I am proud of the outcome and feel more comfortable using a vector-based design program.

--

--