🍬 HexCandy: Delicious color tracker for designers

Enrique Benitez 🎩
2 min readNov 23, 2016

--

Today I launched a little and awesome web app I made in two weeks, introducing HexCandy.

HexCandy is just a delicious color tracker for designers, that is, you like a color, you save it on HexCandy, and it remains with you forever.

The idea

The other day I was deciding which colors to use on a project, so I just went straight to my ColorZilla Chrome extension to see my previously picked colors, when I find an awesome color around the web that I like, I just use the ColorZilla color picker to see the hex value and save it into the color history, but it can only hold up to 66 colors at a time, so as soon as I add new colors the first ones disappear, that was frustrating, I was losing my favorite colors!

I thought about a nice looking and super simple web app that can save your favorite colors, so I began to code.

And here it is…

I finished building HexCandy today, just a few hours ago, and I have to say, it’s so useful and beautiful, whenever I find a cool color, I just copy the hex value and save it on HexCandy with a proper name, that’s what I call a candy 🍬.

You can add or delete candies, and copy a candy hex value into your clipboard, very cool isn’t?

The tech stack

For all the hackers & makers out there, here’s what I used to build HexCandy:

  • React, react-router and redux for the frontend
  • Firebase for the backend
  • Animate.css & bounce.js for the fancy animations
  • Firebase auth provider for authentication with Facebook
  • Heroku for hosting

That’s all!

Product Hunt

HexCandy is live on Product Hunt! So give it a try and feel free to join the discussion or give me feedback, it’ll be very valuable.

Thanks for reading!

Go try HexCandy now, seriously, it’s awesome.

Share ❤

Enrique Benitez

@bntzio

--

--

Enrique Benitez 🎩

Digital Maker ⚒️ Full-Stack Developer 👨‍💻 Currently into Open Source 💻 Automation Aficionado 🤖 Speak JS 💛 Write Ruby 💎Digital Home 🏡 👉 https://bntz.io