Leadership: you’re not an airplane, you’re a hot air balloon

Alex Boast
3 min readMar 11, 2019

Much conventional wisdom is flawed, so here’s a modern approach to leadership

I talk about this all the time and have recently started being asked questions about it, both on the internet and in the office.

How can you effectively lead and motivate others (especially when you’re not particularly senior)?

So much in fact that I know some of my workmates get annoyed with me, but you’ve got to get in a position where you start dragging others up, not down.

I’ve learned a really important lesson in the past year or so as a result of leading virtual and physical teams on projects that were largely successful where similar ones failed, and I’ll let you in a secret that I think I am going to write a medium post about once I finish this one.

Excuse the grainy image, but it’s my favourite

You are not a plane, you’re a hot air balloon

I thought for so long that I had this huge capacity, and that people can simply hop and my back and lift-off, away we go!

How naive, how foolish I was to think this.

This level of thinking at work or in life will make you sick, don’t do this.

If you think like that:

  • You’ll try to help everyone
  • You’ll think you can…

--

--

Alex Boast

Writer of British Ghost Stories now available in Paperback: https://amzn.to/2y9zEGp Hire me to write your own posts on Fiverr: https://bit.ly/2Kzs4YL