A story about how I created music out of data
control(human, data, sound)

Click here to sign up for my newsletter

the original video

The idea

For quite some time I have been interested in all the data that is being harvested. I’m not particularly in favor or against it, I’m just interested in what data actually means. What does it mean to have huge amounts of data available on a computer? And indeed, a computer, not a human being. A human being is able to contextualize data, and it’s the context that gives data its value. But a computer merely observes my data, based on algorithms that try to give context. That context makes sense sometimes, but often it doesn’t make sense at all. In the meantime, the data just sits there as a source of information, without any meaning. And the bigger the pile of data gets, the more meaningless it becomes.

“This project is an exploration of the meaning of data vs. context”

I am interested in what could happen if one day, data is harvested from the source of all our precious thoughts: our brain. My project control(human, data, sound) is an abstraction of that idea. I use large chunks of data created by neurons of the dancer’s brain. All variables are open to his input, but I, through my composition, determine the context of his data.

How does one go from data to music?

This is essentially a musical composition, though I had to use a lot of technology to get there.

I needed to integrate MIDI into Node.js, which was quite tricky, despite having a library available on NPM.org that I could use (the MIDI library). I needed to translate all the data into binary information: MIDI binary information to be precise.

Excerpt of binary MIDI commands on MIDI.org
This is the player in the console.
An example of how these variables may be used in a function.

Read, change and comment on my composition!

I would love to hear what you guys think about the composition. You can leave your comments here on Medium, on Twitter, and of course the complete source code is on Github.

--

--