A Poem About Life

James Moore
2 min readFeb 2, 2024
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

This is a poem I wrote more than 4 years ago (wow it has really been that long already!) when I first started dabbling with writing.

It is about Life and how you should not take it for granted.

I wrote it for myself as a reminder to myself but I would like to share it with anyone who happens to come across this post and maybe get some inspiration from it.

Thanks for giving it a read and let me know what you think!

LIFE — By James Moore

Life.
Isn’t it just fascinating that you can’t live it twice?
Imagine if you thought you could, imagine what you would do.
Probably sit back, relax and think ‘whew thank God I’ve got two’.
I can make a mistake here, not bother over there,
Not really try at all and why should I really care?
I can always try again, do better next life,
So why not just chill and waste some more time?
But then it dawns on you, what if this is your second dance?
What if God has already showed you mercy and gave you one more chance?
What then would you want, what then would you do,
If you realised every second gone, is a second less of you.
You’d probably want the greatest, the best of what life has to offer,
Like a woman who loves you dearly and one day tells you ‘you are going to be a father.’
But in order to get this and many blessings more,
You’ve got to work hard everyday, even when

--

--

James Moore

I write whatever comes to mind. Usually, it relates to self-improvement, philosophy, health and fitness, or writing itself. I do it for the love of it.