KC Hill
5 min readFeb 16, 2021

Aspics ~ What are they is the question on this day 3 of my adventures in my Julie & Julia Challenge REBOOT 2021....

Fortunately, I have the answer. As I was watching the movie Julie & Julia for the 1st time a few months ago. I watched closely at the tragedy known as Julie’s Aspic cooking day.

How she explained it, which was exact of how Julia Child had her recipes in the cookbook being used there and in this challenge. The cookbook for those who are just joining the Cooking With KC Hill party. It is Mastering The Art Of French Cooking by Louisette Berthole, Julia Child & Simone Beck.

In the movie Julie Powell speaks of her "Sainted Husband " getting her a calves leg to make a beef flavored broth that would then be made into a jello mold basically.

Intrigued this was actually the 1st series of recipes I began last weekend, prior to the Valentine's Day Challenge kick off.

Aspics as I thought were nothing difficult or YUCK at all. They in fact are a trend of healthy Healing Life yumminess being used more and more in the year 2021.

Bone broths & fish or seafood broths - stocks as some called them in the 80's, 90's and first part of the new Millennium.

All are the same thing. For those who follow me on social media or are in The Healing Life Movement group I have on Facebook. You know I use bone broths & seafood broths all kinds daily to drink alone as a very healing and healthful part of my daily nutrition. I also use it in cooking at the time and always have it on hand.

The simplification on this one :

✅ Cooking With KC Hill Simplification Tip #1 :

➡️ You do NOT need to use a calves leg or knuckles to make a nice bone broth for the beef & venison.

➡️ For beef or venison bone broths any parcel of bones will do just perfectly. It's the Collagen in the bones that makes the broth.

➡️ Chicken broths, I bake a chicken for 3-5 hours, slow roasting in the oven. With my special recipe of seasonings.

Then use the broth & bones to make the bone broth.

➡️ When making any of the above 3 Aspics or Bone Broths, I slow cook them in my crockpot. On high for 12 hours then on low for 12 hours.

This takes the most nutrients out of the bones as well as the flavor being amazing!!!

➡️ To receive these personal recipes of mine & more join the Cooking With KC Tribe :

✔ Emails - just email cookingwithkchill@

anamericantreasure.com

Subject line add me to the list

✔ Join my exclusive online group

https://www.facebook.com/groups/764919084451496/?ref=share

I won't be sharing entire recipes daily in the group or email but, eventually these few and many others always make their way to be shared again.

This blog is for the experience I'm having with the Challenge and the fun of cooking.

Now back to the next Aspic :

➡️ Any seafood broth from lobster to fish & even clams.

As well as vegetable broth

A simple 90 minute simmer will do ❤

✅ Cooking With KC Hill Simplification Tip #2

➡️ You do not need to add gelatin or anything to bone broths or fish & vegetable broths.

➡️ Bone broths will congeal, yes I said that, congeal or turn into a jelly.

Gross as some may think it looks. That jelly you have form in gravies, on a ham or other meats. That's what will happen to bone broth.

➡️ For vegetable & seafood broths, freeze them!!! Yes!!! That's it.

I'm not sure why this recipe is made to seem complicated, use only certain ingredients and to make it a yuck experience.

Bone broths, seafood broths and vegetable broths are actually amazing for when your not feeling well, soup starters, gravies, or even just to enjoy in a mug heated up!!!

✅ Cooking with KC Hill’s Simplification Tip #3

➡️ Icecube trays with covers

Tupperware has a GREAT easy to use icecube tray. Those who know my success story of my 30 year career in home party, now virtual party sales. Before I became the CEO, Owner & Founder of my two companies, His & Her Secrets and An American Treasure. I was #1 Leadership for years of my young career with Tupperware. In fact Tupperware was my 1st success.

Those blogs are to come in my Million Dollar Money Maker Nation Blog & group. Join to see them.

I still use, love & believe in Tupperware ❤ Their products have a life time guarantee too against chipping, peeling & cracking. Literally you save money over time by not having to constantly replace.

Amazing products to use for your cooking.

Ice trays whatever you use are the ticket for this to be less messy and it's the easiest way to make great use with no waste of your broths.

Ice cube free trays with covers will reduce spilling and mess.

While icecube trays period will make freezing or refrigerating easier. As well as now you can take as many cubes as you need for each recipe.

So, bone broth is refrigerated or it can be frozen. Broths of vegetables or seafood need to be frozen.

So simple, so yummy and a must try!!!

Take my tips here with you on this journey. Comment love for this below & comment your Aspic or bone broth experience.

Mine all came out YUMMY!!!

With Cooking Love & Many More Delicious Memories To Come ❤

KC Hill

KC Hill
0 Followers

My name is KC Hill & I'm a wife, mom, nana, I love to cook, help others to live their best lives. And I'm the CEO, Owner & Founder of An American Treasure