DJ: December 14, 2023

Brian O'Hanlon
2 min readDec 14, 2023

--

Focus List: SYM, ROKU, MELI, TSLA

SitRep: Markets reacted well to FOMC update and Powell’s remarks. It appears we may be done climbing the rate hike hill and are preparing to move down the backside. The question now is how long, how steep and what bumps there are along the way. Incredible strength, volume and breadth thrust. WLs, FLs and PF all reacting really well. Yesterday afternoon following FOMC was the day to buy aggressively, unfortunately I was traveling and away from the computer and I didn’t get as heavy as I would have liked.

Today’s Plan: Focus on riding the wave and not falling off too early. Today I will mostly observe and add small risk if warranted.

New Risk: 0.25% Trade / 0.5% Day

Open Positions and Exposure: (see image)

Prior Day Recap:

  • Travel day. Took positions in the morning pre FOMC announcement and moved all stops up. I saw a higher probability of neutral to positive reaction vs negative. I kept new risk small and tight. Unfortunately I was away from the computer traveling at the time of the announcement because I would have added to positions and likely pushed to 100% exposure (currently 64% exposure).
  • NET 12/13 took 12% size 0.25% risk. Pullback. Had 2 stop levels set to trim out if it faded. First stop hit on 1/2 position -0.11% pre FOMC. Now 6% size.
  • SHOP 12/13 took 12% size 0.25% risk. Pullback.
  • AMZN 12/13 added, now 19% size.
  • COIN 12/13 added, now 8% size.
  • Portfolio adjustments made Monday and Tuesday while traveling will recorded in the weekly recap.

The information above is my personal journal and reflects my opinion. It is not intended to be investment advice. Seek a licensed professional for advice.

--

--

Brian O'Hanlon

Trading and investing is my "side hustle". I make my journaling public to help me maintain discipline and accountability in what is normally a solo endeavor.