Archive

Botife Adu
3 min readAug 1, 2022

--

An archive can be described as a long-term storage device, as a disk or magnetic tape, or a computer directory or folder that contains copies of files for backup or future reference. It can also be said to be an accumulation of historical records or materials — in any medium — or the physical facility in which they are located.

Photo by Ula Kuźma on Unsplash

The first set of advice I got from a very beautiful writer (and woman) regarding honing my writing skills was the popular “write daily”, absolutely anything that comes to my mind or anything I’m interested in, I thought I was already doing a little bit of that with journaling so easy-peasy right? Lmao, little did I know. Anyways the second advice was more of a suggestion; to join medium. This was in 2020. I did download the app but that was it, I uninstalled it in due time. I eventually dropped my first post here in March 2022, that’s almost 2years later!

I don’t know how, or maybe I do but I started to seek to write professionally in 2020. The pandemic year was quiet a discovery year for most of us. Some of those discoveries are ugly and some of us are still trying to return them, they should never have been discovered a.k.a brought into the light of realization of their existence in our lives, while fortunately, some of those discoveries should have happened way earlier but we are happy it still happened at a time like this.

Writing is one of the things I wish I had paid attention to earlier. I thought that to be a writer, you had to be some magical creator that had all the words that existed in your psyche. I was fine with my method of writing then, which to me wasn’t writing but alas.

I use to jot a lot. Sometimes I’d google the lyrics of songs that I liked and write them down, I still have that lyric jotter even if it looks so uncared for now. Sometimes I’d google facts about zodiac signs, thank God for knowledge and growth, can’t believe I dedicated a time in my life to writing out the strengths and weaknesses of a Virgo. Lol. Point is I oved to write out things that I want to be able to go back to later. Then before I knew it I started writing a diary, the people of my generation now call it journal but you get the point ahbi. And then I was on social media, so I started posting with nice captions.

Now I’m at the point where I want to be able to articulate any situation, emotion or event of life and people would be able to relate. When I started (and even now), I thought the things I wrote (and write) are basic and lacking in gigantic English word and flouting many grammar and writing rules, so I did not consider myself a “writer” until I saw that I wasn’t the best but I wasn’t also the worst.

I said all that story to say this, I’m making medium my archives folder. I’m putting out everything and anything that, I’ve ever written, rough, ugly and whatnot, unedited (ok maybe a little edit). It can only get better from here on.

Hi! Do you know that medium allows you to clap up to 50times on each post? wanna try it? Okay please try it.

--

--