Botife Adu
2 min readApr 11, 2022

ASUU: Frustrated Final Year Student

As if being a student in a public university in Nigeria isn’t enough hurdle, the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) and their incessant strikes add trauma to it.

Yes,I’m here to rant so maybe prepare yourself for the words that follow.

P.S: I had this already written but my laptop decided to sly me and shutdown adding to the stress and frustration I already feel. I’m going to try to put back the words together, it just might not look like the original, but anyways…

I’m a final year student of the University of Lagos, studying business administration with a final year project, which my supervisor has decided to not attend to because… well, “ASUU is on strike".

Now while I’m battling with this, the people of my country are not helping with pressure of showing them that I am not idle accompanied with their everyday “what are you doing with this strike?” question.

Why do you want to know what I’m doing with the strike? Why should I tell you? Oh so you don’t add me to the list of people that are “wasting away". Just because you can’t see what people are doing doesn’t always mean that they are not doing anything. You don’t always have to know.

“Find something to do with this strike, don’t let it waste”, okay! you think I don’t worry about my future than you do? Bros, you think I don’t want to make money and flex too?

And while y’all are lecturing everyone to “learn a skill" (which is not bad advice), also learn to allow them “learn that skill", it takes time so stop distracting their progress with your impatient productivity questions.

I diverted my aggression there, looks like it’s not only ASUU that will collect. But ASUU should learn to do better abeg. All these years of strike should have told them that they need a better strategy to get whatever they want from the government without inconveniencing students. I do not plan to spend 6years on a 4year course.

Yours Frustrated,

Botife.